In case you haven't heard, Mark Mangino, the head coach of the Kansas University football team, is on the hot seat. Apparently, he poked a player in the chest and also made some untoward motivational comments. Wow ... at least there were no panties put on heads. Are there no frat boys on that team, or what?
Well, I reviewed the list of horribles that is floating in the internet ether, and it appears that Mangino may have used the word "homeys" in talking with black players, in addition to making a disparaging comment referencing a player's alcoholic father, and asking one player if he wanted to go back to the old neighborhood and get shot "with his homeys". Here is a good summary of Mangino's smack.
In case you are not familiar with Mangino, he is a fellow of some (actually, a lot of) heft, and he is prone to angry rants. After Vince Young pulled off a miracle comeback with a 4th-and-17 scramble back in '04, Mangino took to the podium and accused the referees of being on the take so they could get the Longhorns into the BCS mix. It was priceless.
Well, I reviewed the list of horribles that is floating in the internet ether, and it appears that Mangino may have used the word "homeys" in talking with black players, in addition to making a disparaging comment referencing a player's alcoholic father, and asking one player if he wanted to go back to the old neighborhood and get shot "with his homeys". Here is a good summary of Mangino's smack.
In case you are not familiar with Mangino, he is a fellow of some (actually, a lot of) heft, and he is prone to angry rants. After Vince Young pulled off a miracle comeback with a 4th-and-17 scramble back in '04, Mangino took to the podium and accused the referees of being on the take so they could get the Longhorns into the BCS mix. It was priceless.
Mangino is a character, and his motivational techniques are old school.
Here is my thought: It's not my style to lead like Mangino does or go on the verbal tirades that he has. But, so what? His style has worked. He made that bunch of pansies at KU into a real football team -- indeed, the best they have been in school history -- in leading them to a 12-1 record and an Orange Bowl victory in '08. But now the Jayhawks are losing games, and so Mangino is losing friends. The long knives of disgruntled, former players are out.
What apparently started it all is one current player whining about getting poked in the chest.
During Texas's 51-20 victory over Kansas on Saturday night, Kerry Meier, one of KU's fine senior receivers, came across the middle and made a diving attempt for a Todd Reesing pass. UT safety Blake Gideon then delivered a crushing blow to separate Meier from the ball. I was looking for a head to be flying with the ball. Meier, to his credit, popped right up.
Then I thought ... These in the "we all get a trophy crowd" are worried about words? They should be worried about the Texas secondary. Those guys are playing for keeps, and their defensive staff is pushing them hard and accepting nothing less than a championship-caliber effort. A guy got poked in the chest? I promise you, Meier would have loved to have been only poked by Gideon at that moment.
This is where such craziness goes. Fearing words, we are unprepared for real conflict. Fearing the possibility that sensibilities will be offended, people really get hurt. We don't treat young men like men, and then we expect them to act like men? No, they go back to playing football like, well, Kansas.
Don't worry. Once they fire Mangino (apparently, all but a done deal), the Jayhawks will be back to playing their brand of metrosexual football soon enough. But at least no one will hurt their feelings, except for the other teams in the Big 12, that is.
To his credit, Mangino is crusty but he has a sense of perspective in our politically-correct world run amok. Last week, some one asked Mangino about having a difficult time as rumors swirled about his imminent departure. He then told a story about a former player he had been in contact with who was battling cancer. "That is a bad week," Mangino said. "I've had a great week."
Okay, in case you haven't seen it, check out this video of Mangino dressing down a player who just scored a touchdown and got an excessive celebration penalty. Personally, I think this tirade should guarantee him a 10-year contract.
It seems the lad thought he was all that. Mangino was upset about the 15-yard penalty, but if you listen to the rant ... hear what else he was bothered by:
Yes, it seems that Coach Mangino has this thing about his football players looking out for things more important than their own personal interests, feelings, and emotions.
It's about team first. I guess that's "old school", too.
0 comments:
Post a Comment